Qty. Item Subtotal
Total $0.00


GF, 7 Ltl. Miller St
Brunswick East,
VIC 3057 AUS

Opening Hours

Wed–Fri 12–5pm
Sat 12–4pm



Kay Abude, Ros Bandt, Michael Fowler, Agatha Gothe-Snape, Dylan Martorell Kerameikou 32

Dates: 12 September-30 October 2011

Kerameikou 32 is a nomadic public art project exploring the relations between art and globalised public space. As urban spaces throughout the world become increasingly privatised for a multitude of commercial uses, this project considers how mobile arts practices can encourage experimentation and contestation within the public realm. Utilising a truck fitted out as a gallery and performance space, Kerameikou 32 imagines a new kind of roving ‘institution’; a model for rethinking the overlap of politics and art.

This project builds on the success of BUS Projects’ recent public art intervention Critical Mobility and forms part of the 2011 program of ReMap3 in Athens, Greece. The Kerameikou 32 truck will be stationed at 32 Kerameikou Street for the duration of the opening week of ReMap3 (12 – 19 September 2011) and will feature work by Australian artists Kay Abude, Ros Bandt, Michael Fowler, Agatha Gothe-Snape and Dylan Martorell. The fit-out for the truck has been designed in collaboration with Athens-based architects Beth Hughes,João Prates Ruivo and coordinated by Vassilis Oikonomopoulos. At the conclusion of opening week, the architectural fit-out will remain as a free-standing installation.

Kerameikou 32 has been curated by Melody Ellis and Nella Themelios on behalf of BUS Projects. BUS Projects supports and promotes the experimental fields of performance, sound art and spatial practice. In addition to its core exhibition program, BUS Projects is committed to operating outside of traditional gallery contexts, developing exhibitions, events and performances off-site and within the public realm.

Thank you to: Kay Abude, Ros Bandt, Jared Davis and the BUS Projects Board, Michael Fowler, Marios Diamantis, Uli Gamper, Alexandros Gerousis, Agatha Gothe-Snape, Beth Hughes, H.O.P.E, Miranda Iossifidis, Aleksandra Kiszkielis, Effie Komninou and ReMap3, Dylan Martorell, Mindora, Vassilis Oikonomopoulos, Steve Phillips, Jorge Rodriguez and João Prates Ruivo.